9 (there’s a blackness on the edge of down)

There’s a blackness on the edge of down
by the clawcrowfeather lies
a single waiting figure
statuelike –   armless in the
moonlight like fire in the
halflight and stars gazing on the edge of down.

On the edge of down, is a boy
licking the honey in spite of the dragon
and walking a stick carved with affection.

Edging down on the edge of down
one finds a strange kind of beast
fickle and fallow and fear
oh my.

The god-silence is deaf
and in my face is blind
and my mouth in numb
loss is my mother
and fatherless for
the edge of down is a bleakness
brok’ness and faithless men
ask for favours of me

but my hands are caught in the
edges of down
and my eyes are strung out
to the crows the spoils
and the victor must live here
on the edge of down.

Leave a Reply

